‘Round and around we go

My next 10k is in less than two weeks, so I feel like it’s crunch time if I’m going to achieve my goal of finishing in under 45 minutes (7:15 minutes/mile). This has been my goal for a long time and I feel like it’s finally something I can attain.

Yesterday’s workout consisted of half-mile sprints followed by quarter-mile jogs. I warmed up with a 1-mile jog, then did the following intervals:

.5-mile @ 8.5 mph with .25-mile jog
.5-mile @ 8.8 mph with .25-mile jog
.5-mile @ 9.1 mph with .25-mile jog
.5-mile @ 8.0 mph with .25-mile jog

I only did four sprints, because the third interval nearly killed me. I threw in one easier sprint to make this an even three miles.

Kinda felt like this little guy!

Today, I did intervals of running, climbing Jacob’s Ladder, and rowing. While on Jacob’s Ladder, I did 30-second intervals of climbing combined with 30-second intervals just using my legs. I tried to keep the intervals short, so I wouldn’t give up halfway through 😉

Run 1 mile @ 8:21 + climb 400 feet + row 400 meters
Run 1 mile @ 7:43 + climb 400 feet + row 400 meters
Run 1 mile @ 7:19 + climb 400 feet + row 400 meters

I was pretty wiped out when I finished, but I’m feeling stronger every day!

Leave a comment